Tuesday, January 15, 2008

Hunting Prize

Who are the jurors of this year's Hunting Prize?

Rene Paul Barilleaux, chief curator of the Marion Koogler McNay Art Museum in San Antonio;
"One of the most important groups you see around the museum are the docents…you know, tour guides…trained tour guides…in fact, very well trained tour guides. "

Peter Briggs, PhD, Helen DeVitt Jones curator of art, Museum of Texas Tech University in Lubbock; "These are the most striking and provocative teapots from that St. Louis show."

Christian Gerstheimer, curator for the El Paso Museum of Art; "The panel discussion about the exhibition on June 24th generated many questions and dialogue."

Amy Lewis Hofland, director of the Trammel & Margaret Crow Collection of Asian Art in Dallas; "The combination of the artists' touching stories and the aesthetics of the carvings distinguishes this very special collection"

Victoria Lightman, co founder and principal director of the "Looking At Art" education program; "In terms of state funding for arts, Texas is dead last"

Michelle Locke, associate curator of the South Texas Institute for the Arts in Corpus Christi.

I feel remorse.